Icons of England
  • Introduction
  • The Icons
  • Nominations
  • News
  • Learn & Play
  • Your Comments

The Peak District


Explore the Peak District's history and highlights and you'll see why it became England's first national park.

The Basics

Declared England’s first national park in 1951, this large chunk of Derbyshire (plus bits of a few other counties) is home to 100 conservation areas and more than 3,000 listed buildings. Famous landmarks include its highest peak, Kinder Scout, scene of a mass trespass in 1932 by ramblers demanding public access to open spaces, and a notorious cavern picturesquely known locally as the Devil’s Arse.

The Basics
History and Highlights

History and Highlights

The Peak District has the honour of having been designated Britain’s very first national park, back in April 1951. It covers 555 square miles of Derbyshire (along with bits of Yorkshire, Cheshire and Staffordshire), and is home to 38,000 people. There are more than 100 conservation areas within its expanse, and almost 3,000 listed buildings.